Let's Read Socially–Kindle, I'm giving you a chance…

Hello #LIS768 (and anyone else who is reading this post!) I put out a tweet earlier this week inquiring if anyone would be interested in reading a book “socially” with me via the Kindle.  For my research paper, I am exploring the concept of “social reading, ” and I will be looking at a variety of mediums (traditional book clubs, online chat forums, Social Networking sites, and eReaders, specifically, the Kindle).  What I am trying to find out is which experience is more meaningful, or, what  benefits/disadvantages there are in each situation.  That is why I was hoping to find a few friends to read a book with over the Kindle.  There would be a couple of “rules” but that’s only so I can record my experience more accurately.

If you are interested, here’s what I would need:

1.  We all pick a book that we are interested in.  We can read one of the books that has been discussed in class, or we can pick a book on a totally unrelated topic–I’m flexible.  The only catch is that is must be available as an eBook.

2.  We pick a date to start reading and then the rest is up to you.  Read as fast or as slow as you want–even if you don’t finish the book by the time the paper is due, that is ok.

3.  Highlight passages and tweet them along the way.  If your kindle doesn’t let you share the passages, then please tweet them on your own by typing them out. (We will create a hashtag for the book so all of our tweets can be kept together)

4.  Write 1 (short, medium, long–doesn’t matter!) blog post about your thoughts on the book.  Could be at the end, beginning, middle, anywhere–just make sure you tweet out a link to that blog post so we can all read it.

If this is something you are interested in let me know!  I am thinking of having the book picked out by March 11th (it’s a Friday), so either comment below or send me a Tweet if you are interested in participating!

**IF YOU DO NOT HAVE A KINDLE** You are MORE than welcome to read along with us and manually tweet your passages.  Just please indicate to me if you do not have a Kindle so that I can include it in my research!

**IF YOU ARE NOT IN #LIS768** That’s ok too!  Anyone and Everyone can read along–in fact, the more the merrier!

Thanks in advance for those who are interested!

    • Angela Mare
    • February 27th, 2011

    What a fab Idea. The library I work in has a kindle although I have not seen it as yet – out on loan and I am new to the library. I have an e-reader, not a kindle and not something you can connect to the internet. Would love to be a part of this research. It will give me an indication of what a kindle can do.

    Regards
    Angela

  1. Great! Thanks Angela. I am hoping to have about 5 people total so as soon as I get some more responses we can start picking a book.

    Have a great week!

    • Liz Humrickhouse
    • March 7th, 2011

    Hey Allison. Do you have a book idea in mind? I’d love to read along with you guys.

  2. Hi guys!

    These were the 3 I was thinking of–any preference?

    Once we pick a book, let’s get started!

    1. Tribes: We Need You to Lead Us by Seth Godin
    2. Born Digital: Understanding the First Generation of Digital Natives by John Palfrey and Urs Gasser
    3. Ambient Findability – by Peter Morville

    Let me know what you think!

  3. If nobody has a preference, I would like to try reading Born Digital together on our eReaders! Let’s get started!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

