Research Paper–Proposal: Social Reading

For my research paper, I plan on looking at the concept of “Social Reading.” I am looking for answers to several questions (in no particular order)

1. Do eReaders, such as the Kindle, create a more, less, equal to or just plain different social experience than physical and old fashioned monthly book clubs?
–To explore this beyond the written research available, I plan on visiting a boom club meeting at a local bookshop in my city. I want to compare that scenario to my experience reading a popular book on the Kindle and discussing that via amazon.com and other online portals.

2. How do social networking sites like GetGlue and Good Reads enhance the social experience of reading?
— For this, I plan on creating and monitoring accounts of my own for more insight to the question.
3. What is the history of reading as a social activity as opposed to a solitary enjoyment (the rise of book club for example)?

Here are some articles I have found to get me started:

Articles:

If anyone has any other ideas or suggestions for additional questions I could ask please let me know!

    • Michael
    • March 6th, 2011

    Great choice. I’ve been thinking and doing some writing about this as well. I think it’s one of the most fascinating parts of e-reading.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

